RSS Feed

The 3 day test

Posted on

Bruins vs Canucks. A Spanish player may join the NBA. Draft prospects. A player publicly intoxicated. Marshon Brooks – who?? Amare’s back is sore. Lebron.

Um … Dallas Mavericks, anyone?!

With apologies to Russell Crowe, it’s been 3 days since the Dallas Mavericks won their first NBA title in the US basketball. A Cinderella story. The most beloved and respected European player ever, a very popular owner (and that link is so many ways sums him up) and, in Jason Kidd, a long-time star / ‘everyone wants him to win one’ player.

Good luck trying to find something about them to read.

In my first ever posting, I referred to the short the media cycle; that you had 3 days, if that, to be the centre of attention before the world moved on. Not only can it be exhausting keeping up, but when it’s over, the cycle demands a different story, a bigger one, a unique take, just something else…

Today is the perfect day to perform the ‘3 day test’ – to look at how long you actually have to sit back and enjoy it on the rare occasion when things go well.

‘Sur-priiiise!’

After searching around, even I was surprised at what came out. My first stop was the espn web page. Take a look for yourself.

Their major story, to be fair, had moved on to the deciding game of the NHL hockey season. The other major stories – golf, baseball, a college controversy and in NBA news – the upcoming draft…

But at least in the sidebar, there was hope of some references to the Mavericks success.

Nope.

Ricky Rubio – who has never played in the NBA, may actually decide to come over. Amazingly, you will struggle to believe this, but a player was arrested for public intoxication. Oh, and Kim Clijsters is not playing Wimbledon this year.

I knew what was coming, but I moved on anyway to the ‘NBA page’ on the espn site. Check it out.

The scores from Game 6 figure prominently at the top. Those 3 players you can see?! No, they don’t play in the league; yet. They’re some top college prospects coming out in the draft. Other major stories – a review of the entire playoffs, a piece on Lebron (shocking, I know) and a look back at the fall of the Boston Celtics (If I was reading sports news, I would enjoy that one…). There is a piece on the Mavs – it asks, ‘What’s next?’

Well then, welcome to day 3.

The only single positive Mavs-related piece on the sidebar was that they are expecting 250,000+ at their victory parade on Thursday. I hope they enjoy it. (Truly, I do!)

So far, the evidence that the mainstream sports media has moved on is pretty much in your face. Still, I honestly had hope as I went to the NBA webpage.

So, it looks like I need to conduct the ‘2 day test’ next time. The major stories, going down the list …

  • The draft
  • Lebron’s struggles (remember him?)
  • Zach Randolph – a headcase from the Memphis Grizzlies who is playing pretty well right now, helping people to forget that … well … he’s a head case…
  • The top games of the year, and
  • They’re profiling Marshon Brooks, whoever that is. He’s a top draft prospect.

Are you kidding me?!

At least there were some mini-movies of each game of the finals series. Apparently they’re fantastic. And you can buy some championship apparel…

Months and thousands upon thousands of words are spent in anticipation and analysis of forthcoming seasons; trades and potential trades analysed to the last microscopic piece of information, teams moving up, moving down, players taking the next step, the greats dropping off and the season itself.

All roads lead to the championship game or series. And when it’s over? What window of time is there to sit back and enjoy the achievement, if in fact your team is even lucky enough to get there? You tell me, cos I would have said, ‘3 days?

‘Can they repeat?’ ‘Who will Cleveland/team with the number 1 pick take in the draft?’ ‘How will this team measure up historically?’ ‘What else is happening?’!

I have followed great Laker championships in the modern era, only to read the day after the series was clinched how they compare poorly to the great Magic and Kareem and West-led teams of the past, or to not expect continued dominance. So even when you ‘win’, the not so subtle message that quickly follows is, ‘There’ll be someone else soon enough,’ or, ‘These guys were better.’ And you know what? They’re right. But come on – let me enjoy at least 3 days!

Now, multiply these pressures by the number of teams I follow and you can see how this could become overwhelming. You can see, can’t you? (If not, exit blog immediately, as there’s over 800 words to this end and I still haven’t made my point.)

Stepping away for a short time has helped to crystallise in my head the precariousness of the moment; that point in time that you hope for when you get so immersed in your recruiting, the younger players’ development, your coach, your opponents… And when it finally happens?

Well, you don’t even have 3 days…

About petek8

Pete Evans has just finished going 12 months without watching any sport. The journey stemmed from a sense that the balance was out-of-whack with my time and my priorities. Everything seemed to revolve around creating enough time and space to fit in the last game, games, recap shows or space to surf the net for the latest numbers and analysis. The cycle never ends - one season leads into another, seasons overlap if you follow various sports and the media's insatiable appetite for a new 'story' means that even the greatest of achievements aren't heralded for more than 3 days. So I stepped away from the machine for awhile and intentionally engaging with the journey by writing about it.

2 responses »

  1. Bruins vs Canucks? What the, thats a Warcraft add or something right?

    You are so right. I was away when game 6 was played. It took me 2 days and 4 sittings (damn it) to get through it. With excitement I logged onto nba.com, espn etc and could find very, very little. In fact, even trusty old Goggle was letting me down.

    Interesting, but who cares, I enjoyed the series immensly, now I’m off to take my daughter to the park. When the band wagon rolls around next year I’ll jump straight back on at a time that suits me. I might even do the same with the Saints, I hear they’re not doing so well this year? I’m not ashamed I owe them nothing, if they disappeared tomorrow my life would remain unchanged.

    This is a great blog Peter Evans, keep it up.

    Reply
    • ‘If they disappeared tomorrow my life would remain unchanged’. Well, then. Glad that you can enjoy your Saints or ball when it suits you and your family as well. ‘My year without Warcraft’ – doesn’t quite have the same ring to it…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

