RSS Feed

I’m going to the football this weekend!

Posted on

So is this it?

As stated in a post a couple of weeks ago, this journey of a year without sport was always going to have its roadblocks and intriguing nuances.

A friend’s final game ever of competitive football was one such scenario.

To bring you up to speed, a good mate who has played local footy since he was a wee lad is calling it quits after this year’s season, which culminates with a home game this Saturday afternoon. I’ve known for some time that he was considering retiring and it’s an important moment in his life; I want to be there to share it with him.

And again, as previously noted, there was never a decision to be made. I was always going to be attending.

 

Watching it all unfold

It’s not the game that I’m there for this Saturday. It’s funny that as the day draws nearer, the football is not what bears excitement for me. Seeing my mate run about in one last attempt at clinging onto his youth, watching attentively for a final stoush, goal and bump, grabbing a hot dog and a can of coke; chatting with his fiancée and mates and cheering him on, on the other hand, are all genuinely entertaining propositions. And yes I included a hot dog and coke in that list: I am, after all, a simpleton.

I’m not sure how to clearly communicate how going to the game doesn’t immediately end this entire journey, as well as this blog … It just doesn’t. This is about mateship and community and is exactly what I want to engage more with.

And yes, I miss my friends who I used to see regularly on a Friday night for footy viewing. How is that same community- and friendship-based argument not viable in this regard? Well that, my friends, is a tricky one. And believe me, if it comes down to, ‘Go to Friday night footy viewings or risk the friendship,’ I’ll be there with bells on. And pizza… But if it has to get to that point, that will be saddening. Hopefully we’ll figure out a way as the months draw on to engage outside of the sporting arena before I make my own comeback to sports viewing somewhere down the line.

So I’ll keep you posted on how it all unfolds. I’m confident this does not make me a raging hypocrite; it’s just yet another curveball in this unique challenge that lays before me.

About petek8

Pete Evans has just finished going 12 months without watching any sport. The journey stemmed from a sense that the balance was out-of-whack with my time and my priorities. Everything seemed to revolve around creating enough time and space to fit in the last game, games, recap shows or space to surf the net for the latest numbers and analysis. The cycle never ends - one season leads into another, seasons overlap if you follow various sports and the media's insatiable appetite for a new 'story' means that even the greatest of achievements aren't heralded for more than 3 days. So I stepped away from the machine for awhile and intentionally engaging with the journey by writing about it.

One response »

  1. The journey thus far has clearly had a positive impact on your life, that is evidenced in this blog. Enjoy sport with others, just don’t make ‘sport’ the priority. If it were the priority, then you’d be a hypocrite.

    P.S – you really need to launch your comeback to the basketball court!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

