RSS Feed

Superbad comforters

Posted on

Hey Frenchy, pick on someone your own size, and sex … and age

Before we begin today, it seems that the French sportsmen are getting themselves in the news for all the wrong reasons.

Today, there’s the footage of the French steeple chaser who, after win-ning the 3,000 metre event, fully shoves a mascot right in the face. The problem? Well, besides the fact that the mascot was only trying to give him a gift bag (you know, as congratulations for winning the gold medal and all), it was being worn by a 14 year old girl. Silly angry Frenchman…

The national soccer team were also knocked out of Euro 2012. Don’t feel bad, Frenchies, a 2-0 loss isn’t so bad, considering what Italy served up in the final (0-4).

And then, Frenchy counterpart Gilles Simon brought up what most men on the pro tennis tour believe but are too afraid to say, that women don’t deserve the same pay as men. We looked at this topic in January, after Sharapova received the same amount for capitulating in her final within an hour as Nadal did in going down to Djokovic (damn it!) in over 5 hours in what has been touted as the greatest final ever.

We won’t go into more of it here, therefore. I’m with the men here, by a long margin. Yet I do have to give it to, of all people, my nemesis – longtime nasty bully who once threatened to kill a line judge by shoving a ball down her throat – Serena Williams, who actually brought some common sense to the topic.

I shall dishonour the French behaviour by refusing to eat French Fries during my holidays. For today only. It’s the least I could do.

________________________________

Blocked

About 3 weeks ago, I had a good mate block ‘Safari’ on my iPhone. As I’ve reflected before, I have found that with all my down time around being home with my newborn son, I was far more prone to killing time by surfing the net. I was losing all my battery life within a day; I initially blamed Apple(!), and was filling in time wastefully.

So off it went. Currently I’m getting 2+ days of battery power. No coincidence there!

Yet, distractions abound.

I may have solved the phone dilemma, but my laptop and I still have issues.

Want to ask me about the NBA free agency situation and where Dwight Howard, Joe Johnson and Deron Williams are headed? Go ahead. I’ve got all the details. Carlton’s issues in the AFL with coach Brett Ratten? Yep, up to date there too. Who got who in the NBA draft and who they should have drafted instead?! I’m your guy.

You tell me – what pop culture, sporting, fashion, tv, movie or celebrity news are you abreast of more than you’d like to admit?

How much have you read about Tom Cruise and Katie Holmes’ breakup?

I found myself reading a light-hearted article which was, in jest, getting different writers to tip Katie’s replacement for Tom. It wasn’t until the name ‘Suri’ came up that I thought to myself, ‘Wait. They have a kid??’ Reality check. Close the article down. Silly stuff from me. Move on.

Replacements

Not surprisingly, where one area of concern has been headed off, another arises. Of course my distractedness is more complex than having internet access and a working laptop. We have just purchased a new tv as well, including Apple TV. What? Am I going to ban myself from that, as well as the laptop!? Of course not. But the temptation clearly remains to spend more time on these distractions than is healthy.

‘McLovin’ on the left. Genius.

A Superbad comforter

Is it wrong to love wrong movies?! Look, quite possibly it is, but my wife and I love Superbad. I’m not saying to see it, just that we rewatch it a number of times and use 15+ references in our own humour.

One aspect of the movie that brings about a smile that isn’t wrong is how they refer to a doona, a duvet, as a ‘comforter’. Yet the description makes sense in many ways. Cold night, diving into bed, wrap yourself up in a warm comforter. I get it.

I’ve seen that as we get older, we turn to our own comforters in many ways – the activities and the people that feel comfortable, known, safe, risk free.

For me, those activities have been based around the world of sport, where I know what I’m talking about, which is always showing on tv when I’m free on the weekends. It gave me something to do when I’ve got nothing to do.

For the plethora of Mr Men readers out there…

In so many ways, though, it’s easier to steadfastly and often stubbornly hold onto those comforters than the alternative, which is to put yourself out there and try to be social and be present in my community. See who wants to hang. Develop interests outside of my own bed of knowledge. There’s a vulnerability in trying to get out of your comfort zone. I’d much prefer an AFL or NBA game, movie at home and surfing the net.

Yet I have to take an active response to the ‘Letter to the 15 year old me’, a blog post from May which encouraged me to get off my a$$ and be out there in the world.

Just because I’m (much!) older and have a phenomenal 5 week old baby doesn’t mean that I should just go back into my shell, even though there is a world of justifications from the parental world to do so.

So much to do!

I had a good mate share part of his life story recently, and he was reflecting on how lucky he is to live in an awesome country, where he has so many interests that he struggles to devote enough time to all of them. Even though I was jealous of someone who loves snowboarding, skateboarding, building, bike riding to name just a few, he is spot on.

Uplifting

Walk the talk

Even as I write this I’m thinking of ways, today, to break the mould of what I normally do when I have down time. Today’s plan on the holidays while Mrs YWS and Junior YWS are out, is to hit the local bakery for a pie and settle down at home to discover the joys of ‘Breaking Bad’, a show I have wanted to get into for ages… I have the discs, I just need the food!

Still, it would be hypocritical not to walk the talk and I sent out two different texts to groups of people which would shut this awesome bakery/DVD duo down for the time being. But I know that at the end of the day, it’s the engagement with people and community that brings fulfilment and energy, not slouching around on my own all day.

Although it still sounds good!

About petek8

Pete Evans has just finished going 12 months without watching any sport. The journey stemmed from a sense that the balance was out-of-whack with my time and my priorities. Everything seemed to revolve around creating enough time and space to fit in the last game, games, recap shows or space to surf the net for the latest numbers and analysis. The cycle never ends - one season leads into another, seasons overlap if you follow various sports and the media's insatiable appetite for a new 'story' means that even the greatest of achievements aren't heralded for more than 3 days. So I stepped away from the machine for awhile and intentionally engaging with the journey by writing about it.

One response »

  1. Entertainment. So fun yet so distracting.

    I get your drift here mate. At the times when I opt to be with people, it is always more satisfying. That goes for entertainment too, being with people makes it more enjoyable. That said, the less I use entertainment to pass time the more I enjoy the rare moments I get to myself where I do sit on my ass – which can be applied to many things in life really.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

